The Monster

I had this dream the other night… a very strange dream. It still sticks with me which is strange considering I forget most of the dreams I have. We were in my house and my younger brothers were there, and they had this thing. It was sort of like a box, and they were trying to summon this monster with it. I remember freaking out and telling them to stop. One of the boys dropped the box as it started to turn black. Slowly, this tiny, demon like creature emerged from it and scratched my youngest brother. I could feel evil radiating off of him. I was filled with adrenaline. It was short and furry with three eyes and spikes. It resembled an odd black plant with eyes. Both the boys bolted up the stairs screaming…. I can never forget those screams. They weren’t the usual funny girly screams I was used to. These were screams of pure terror. The monster followed us up the stairs as I rushed them to my room. I locked them in my closet, a place I must have assumed would be impossible for them to get to. As the creature came towards me, I started to call out to God. My voice was so hoarse I could barely speak but I repeated the words again and again desperately. As I did this, the monster turned. It left me alone and headed straight for my parents room. I followed it. Why did I do this? I don’t know. I just did. The creature was sitting on my parents bed. It was upset. I started to talk to it, telling it that it didn’t have to be this way. “How can I be good? Look at me!” It said. I remember saying something along the lines of “That doesn’t matter.”

He was calming down. I could sense the evil leaving the room. As he looked at me, he slowly transformed into a human child. I remember telling my brothers that it was okay. There was no monster in our house.

Something else happened, and the child started to transform again but I made him stop. I helped him calm down. I don’t know how I did this.

When I woke up the images were fresh in my mind. It was so vivid, so jarring… what does it mean? I feel like maybe it has to do with humanity, how inside of the most despicable human beings there is still hope…maybe that evil is reversible? That love transforms? Children need to be protected? I don’t know. Maybe I’m looking to deep into this. I have an over-active imagination after all.

One thought on “The Monster

Leave a Reply

