a farewell to all i’ve known and never seen

I’d rather be with you

Than stay at home

Rotting in my saturday clothes

I’d rather be more you

Less me

Then we’d all grow up more pleasantly

But forget about who we’ve been

And who I’ll never be

Because somewhere in this wintry world

I have colors not yet seen

I still dream in the third degree

 

So remember me

Not for bursts of melancholy

Or scraps of fantasy

Rotten daydreams

Lush whimsy

The hope of being clean

Not for perceived naivety  

Read my poetry

 

These words ebb in my chest

And spurt forth into mess

 

I’m drifting

Wistful introspection

Before and now

And who I’m hoping to become

 

My heart has moved light years since third grade

So why does it stay in the same place?

I still want the same things

I’m still longing for his wings

 

This sweet sampling of spring pacifies me

How different I feel

To fall asleep to psalms underneath my pillow

Sun warming my window

This season of detachment is ending

As my place here is descending

My heart preparing itself

For impending change

 

Three months and it’s over

It’s over

It’s over

I wish I could have been better

Said more

 

I’d rather be with you

Than stay at home

Rotting in my saturday clothes

I’d rather be more you

Less me

Then we’d all grow up more pleasantly

But forget about who we’ve been

And who I’ll never be

Because somewhere in this wintry world

I have colors not yet seen

 

There is no anger left in this human

No bite

No fight

No girlish blight

I’m here and I’m alright

 

Where the sunlight stops

In the morning glaze

And i dream of freckled shoulder blades

One day I’ll publish a tragedy

Or in some eyes

A masterpiece

Dreams

And inner beings

Unspoken things

Drifting sunbeams

This, now

The first ray of spring

 

I paint watercolor sunflowers

And clair de lune

Drifting off

In this cluttered room

Dreaming of june

Oh dear

I leave, very soon

For now

I’ll forget the future

And roam

In this sweet tune

Leave a Reply

