Golden Shovel warmup

Golden shovel poem

(It takes a line from a published poem and uses one word at the end of each line)

Line taken from Sylvia Plath’s Elm 


A potted plant keeps watch and I

Watch it spill over the windowsill as I am

Wreathed with cattails and terrified

By pond scum and the shadow of this

Misty pond mirrored in the dark

Holding the stars and another thing

The bones of a sleeping queen that

Sits in turquoise film she endlessly sleeps

I jolt my bones i wade in myth in

Her legacy, a legend too cryptic for me

 

Leave a Reply

