rewrite me

 

Bones written like music

So they know how to master it

If only I was carved the same way

A rushing sashay

Wind and willow  

I dream of it sometimes

This art like flight

Your command of air

But it’s too loud

 

So tell me how you feel

If only it were that simple

It only comes from me when I ache this way

These words,

These sayings.

I spent moonrises mastering the quiet arts

Because they are internal

And I’d rather keep a journal

Then keep running in the rain

Or proving I have a brain

I am 18 and still wishing for some other bones

Or a human to call home

I spent all my money on salads

Just to find forests in my stomach

And succulents in my ribcage

My heart withers and wanes

Drooping in my chest like a sun starved flower

 

I am

A sun starved flower

 

Tell the truth and unwind

This labyrinthine mind

Fear is a corroding fungus

Spawned in the flesh

And spilling to spirit

 

So pray then

Or plead,

Whatever you need

Color me like heaven

Take my soul

Not halved,

In whole

Siphon the wicked straight from my bones

Take this being

Start in her a new thing

Take me,

My great king,

Rewrite me

Teach me how to be

Leave a Reply

